IFDT Becomes a Member of the Open Society University Network (OSUN)

The Institute for Philosophy and Social Theory (IPST) of the University of Belgrade joins the Open Society University Network (OSUN). With this partnership, the Institute continues to develop its long-standing practice of conducting scientific activity and cooperation beyond the borders of the Republic of Serbia.

The Institute is already active in the Regional Consortium consisting of: IPST, the Center for Advanced Studies at the University of Rijeka, the Faculty of Political Sciences of the University of Sarajevo, IDESE – the Institute for Democratic Engagement in Southeast Europe, and the Faculty of Media and Communications of the Singidunum University in Belgrade. The Institute is also a member of the European Jean Monet academic network.

The University Open Society Network (OSUN) was created on the initiative of the founders: the Central European University (CEU) in Vienna and the Bard College in New York with the support of the Open Society Foundations. It is dedicated to socially engaged scientific and educational work as well as to critical approaches to higher education in the world with the goal of working together on issues of global importance.

The goal of the OSUN network is to encourage building socially responsible universities in the world, a critical approach to science and educational practices, as well as global awareness and cooperation of students, professors and researchers. The network provides support and new opportunities to individual members to build their own institutions, to reach the aspiration of equal access to higher education for all people, and to oppose all forms of polarization and inequality in society.

Through this cooperation, the University of Belgrade becomes one of the hubs of integrated study programs of this consortium, which includes: the University of Arizona, USA, SciencesPo University of Paris, Ashesi University in the Republic of Ghana, BRAC University of Bangladesh, De los Andes University in Colombia and the National Sun Yat-sen University in Taiwan. The Institute joins the ranks of research institutions such as the Berkeley Center for Human Rights at the University of California, the Global History Laboratory at Princeton University in the USA, the Institute of Social Sciences in Vienna (IWM) and the Chatham House Institute in London.